Edina Boys Soccer 2014

Today culminates my 2014 season with the Edina High School boys soccer team. For the past two and a half years I have spent the fall months filming and creating the end of the season highlight video for the teams banquet. Like past years I have throughly enjoyed my time with the team. I do not know the boys away from the team however if they are anything like athletes who show up every day to practice, giving it their best, I can say with out a doubt, parents smile, you have some classy young men on your hands.

Filming this years video went much smoother than last years video. As always, being an amateur filmmaker poses more than a few challenges. I use two cameras, a Canon XF100 and a Canon XF300. The XF100 I set up in the stands for the overview shot (Many thanks to the parents who volunteered to run the camera) and I use the XF300 for the on the field shots. Lighting gave me my biggest problems. Early evening games when the fall sun was low on the horizon was havoc on the camera sensors. Next year I will have to invest in two matte boxes to control the intense September light. The biggest challenge I faced was the night games. Few if any of the fields were lit well. This pushed both cameras to their limits. The XF300 I believe lived up to the challenge while the XF100 struggled due to its placement and auto settings.

This year I used Final Cut Pro X. I love this editing program, Ok I learned on FCP 6. The downer side of things is my Mac Pro is about ten years old and not up to the challenge of FCPX. I did all my editing on my Macbook Pro. Not a big problem but dam i’m getting old and a laptop screen is not the best for viewing or editing. Time to pony up some cash and upgrade to the new Mac Pro.

Overall a very enjoyable season. I am looking forward to next year and pushing my amateur video skills to the next level.

Comments are always welcome
Enjoy the Video.

http://vimeo.com/user1554875/review/110504218/5e12873c10

6 thoughts on “Edina Boys Soccer 2014

  1. Awesome job Douger! Those kids should be super happy you do that for them. Maybe they don’t appreciate it, but I am sure they will later. You are the man.

  2. I think I threw up a little in my mouth when I saw them running stairs. Flashbacks from hell. I see not much has changed in the training since 1987-1988. LOL.

Leave a Reply

